Wednesday , January 17 2018
Home / Uncategorized / Amãna Takaful wins ‘The Entity of the Year’ at SLIBFI Awards

Amãna Takaful wins ‘The Entity of the Year’ at SLIBFI Awards

Fazal Ghaffoor, CEO, Amana Takaful PLC receiving the award
Fazal Ghaffoor, CEO, Amana Takaful PLC receiving the award

“KruthaGuna” bags Gold for Product of the Year

Amãna Takaful PLC was
awarded the prestigious Gold Award in the ‘Islamic Finance Entity of the Year’
category at the Sri Lanka Islamic Banking and Finance (SLIBFI) Awards held
recently. At a gala ceremony held in Colombo, the composite insurer was also
recognized for its unique hospitalisation cover ‘KruthaGuna’ which won the prestigious ‘Product
of the Year’ award.
The Annual SLIBFI Awards were introduced in 2012 to recognize
and honour individuals and institutions for their contribution and performance in
the Sri Lankan Islamic Banking and Finance
industry. The SLIBFI Awards highlight excellence in the industry
and give special recognition to institutions demonstrating outstanding
performance, innovation, use of technology and a significant contribution to
society. The awards ceremony was held as part of a gala evening which
celebrated the gathering of the SLIBF fraternity.  Accolades were awarded in multiple categories
which were keenly contested. The nominees were selected after a thorough auditing
process conducted by KMPG auditors, who partnered as the official adjudicator.

SLIBFI Gold for Islamic Finance Entity of the Year & SLIBFI Gold for Isl....
SLIBFI Gold for Islamic Finance Entity of the Year
& SLIBFI Gold for Isl….
on these prestigious accolades, Fazal Ghaffoor, CEO, Amãna Takaful PLC, stated, “It is a great honour to be adjudged ‘The Best Islamic Finance Entity of the Year’
in Sri Lanka. We are also very proud to have ‘KruthaGuna’ win the ‘Product of the Year’. It is a product
that we truly believe in and we are proud that it has been recognised.  At Amãna Takaful we
strive to provide the best services and products to our customers while delivering
the best to our stakeholders, profitably and productively. These awards are a
welcomed acknowledgement of our hard work and the trust our policyholders place
in us.” 
Ghaffoor added,
“Being in operation for the past 15 years as the pioneer and  only fully-fledged Takaful operator in the
country, this accolade is a true testament to the stability, growth and
acceptance of the Takaful way of risk management that we bring to the financial
services industry in the country.”
Takaful has been successful in its journey of 15 years in establishing a strong
position for the concept of Takaful amidst stiff competition from other
conventional industry players.   The ‘KruthaGuna’
policy was introduced last year as a unique insurance cover designed specially
to take care of the hospitalisation needs of those over 55 years of age. The
policy provides financial security and much needed support in times of need against
hospital medical bills, home nursing care, cost of cataract operations, concessions
on wheelchairs and many more benefits. Adel Hashim, General Manager Sales and Marketing,
Amãna Takaful commenting on the recognition stated, “Amãna
Takaful is
the first insurer in Sri Lanka to offer a comprehensive hospitalisation policy
which covers existing ailments. The company believes that it is meaningless to
offer a policy for elders without extending cover for an existing ailment.
Hence, the cover is granted with a waiting period of 12 months to eliminate
Amãna Takaful was
also adjudged as the ‘Best Islamic Financial Services Provider in Sri Lanka’ last
year by the UK’s International Finance Magazine.
The composite insurer is
one of the few ISO certified insurance operators in Sri Lanka and operates in
three key strategic business units specialising in Life, General and Medical
insurance categories. The company operates in 25 locations in the country and
intends to keep expanding. 

The current Board of Directors of Amãna
Takaful PLC includes M/S. Tyeab Akbarally (Chairman), Ehsan Zaheed (Executive
Director), Non-Executive Directors – Osman Kassim, Dr. A.A.M. Haroon, Dr. T.
Senthilverl, and Non-Executive Independent Directors M.H.M. Rafiq, Dato’ Fadzli
Yusof, A.S.M. Muzzamil, Ali Sabry, Dr. Ifthikar Ismail and R. Gopinath.

About elanka@2017

Check Also

Lamy awarded “Product Brand of the Year” at German Brand Award

German_Brand_Award_LAMY_2017 As part of the celebratory gala at the German Historical Museum in Berlin, Lamy …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *