Saturday , January 20 2018
Home / Sports / Cricket / Sri Lanka name squad for three-Test tour of Australia

Sri Lanka name squad for three-Test tour of Australia

Sri Lanka squad forTest tour of Australia
Sri Lanka squad for Test tour of Australia

Dimuth Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep included

Sri Lanka national selectors announced their 16-man squad to tour Australia in December – January.
Mahela Jayawardene named as skipper and opener Dimuth Karunaratne,who impressed against New Zealand, has been retained for the tough tour Down Under. 
Karunaratne made a duck in his first innings as a Test batsman, against New Zealand, but the second innings saw him make 60 at a run a ball as the Lankans won the game by 10 wickets.

As for the bowlers, there are five fast bowlers in the side, while spinners Ajantha and Jeevan Mendis are on stand-by, as are Lahiru Thirimanne and Thisara Perera.
One absentee from the Sri Lanka’s Test against New Zealand is Tharindu Kaushal but that is understandable since spin will not be a major factor on Australian pitches.His replacement is Nuwan Pradeep.

Sri Lanka squad: 

  • Mahela Jayawardene (capt)
  • Angelo Mathews (vice-capt)
  • Tillakaratne Dilshan
  • Kumar Sangakkara
  • Tharanga Paranavitana
  • Thilan Samaraweera
  • Prasanna Jayawardene
  • Rangana Herath
  • Nuwan Kulasekara
  • Shaminda Eranga
  • Suraj Randiv
  • Dinesh Chandimal
  • Chanaka Welagedara
  • Nuwan Pradeep
  • Dhammika Prasad
  • Dimuth Karunaratne

About elanka@2017

Check Also

Shikhar Dhawan

India thrash Sri Lanka by 9 wickets in first ODI

India tour of Sri Lanka 2017 Shikhar Dhawan scored his 11th ODI century and unbeaten …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *