Saturday , January 20 2018
Home / Uncategorized / Volkswagen Race Polo returns to Colombo Night Races 2012

Volkswagen Race Polo returns to Colombo Night Races 2012

Volkswagen Race Polo returns to Colombo Night Races 2012
Volkswagen Race Polo returns to
 Colombo Night Races 2012

Volkswagen Race Polo returns

Motorsport India will once again burn rubber on the streets of Colombo, Sri
Lanka in the Colombo Night Races 2012 (CNR 2012). The 2nd edition
of the Colombo Night Races will be held in Colombo Fort areas on December 14
and 15. Six Polo R Cup India drivers will compete in this special race weekend
along with four Sri Lankan drivers to complete the grid of 10 drivers.

Polo R Cup 2012 Pro Category Champion Sandeep Kumar, along with Munjal Savla,
Saurav Bandyopadhay, Angad Singh Matharoo, Niranjan Todkari and 2012 JK Tyre
National Karting Champion, Ameya Bafna would be the Indian drivers in Sri
Lanka. The Volkswagen Polo Race will be a part of the race weekend which
includes eight different categories of races.
The other
races will see both cars and motorbikes line up in different categories on a 4
km circuit that is drawn out from the Colombo streets.The practice sessions
along with a qualifying session will be held on Friday while the two races will
take place on Saturday under the flood lights.
After yet
another successful Volkswagen Polo R Cup season, Mr. Prithviraj Siddappa, Head
of Volkswagen Motorsport India, was excited about returning to the streets of
Colombo. He said, “After the success of last year’s Colombo Night Races, it is
exciting for us to return to this mega event. We will be racing the Polo TDI
race cars this year as well. This race signifies the popularity of Polo R Cup
not only in India but beyond as well.”
The Polo R
Cup India drivers participating in the race are:
1.   Sandeep Kumar
2.   Munjal Savla
3.   Saurav Bandyopadhay
4.   Angad Singh Matharoo
5.   Niranjan Todkari
6.   Ameya Bafna
The SriLankan
drivers participating in the race are:
1.   Rohitha Rajapakshe
2.   Romani De Silva
3.   Upulwan
4.   Mannaperuma
The unique
street circuit sets off opposite Galadari Hotel on Lotus Road and run towards
Fort and will take a left turn towards Chatham Street. The drivers will take a
right turn to Duke Street which runs towards Main Street opposite Gaffoor
Building. Then they will turn left on Sir Baron Jayathilaka Mawatha and run
past the Cargills Building on York Street. The route will then take a right
turn to Bank of Ceylon Mawatha and towards Ceylon Continental Hotel and turn
left towards the roundabout opposite Galadari Hotel where the lap will be
Motor sports
enthusiasts interested in getting further information can log on to the
website, This website displays information
about Polo R Cup format, race updates and driver profiles. Follow Polo R Cup on
Volkswagen Motorsport
Volkswagen is committed to broad-scale motor sport as in
internationally staged cross-country rally racing programmes in countries
including Germany, Europe and the United States apart from other countries in
Asia and has a long tradition of promoting young talent. Following the
legendary Formula V as of 1966 the brand, in 1976, sponsored a one-make touring
car cup for the first time. Among others, the Scirocco Cup produced drivers
like the subsequent Formula 1 racer Manfred Winkelhock. In 1977 the first-generation
Golf GTI replaced the Scirocco as the cup vehicle and remained the popular
competition car for a generation of young racers up to 1982. In 1983, the
second-generation Polo followed as the cup vehicle – initially using the 88-hp
normally aspirated engine version and, from 1986, the 112-hp compressor engine.
At the relaunch in 1998, Volkswagen presented the Lupo, which offered top-class
sport at fair prices, as well as the Volkswagen New Beetle Cup.
The year of 1998 stands for an all-new concept in the world of racing.
To this day, this new concept featuring centrally fielded vehicles and car
swapping among the drivers guarantees maximum equality of opportunity. In 2004
the 150-hp Polo replaced the small Lupo as the cup vehicle and the concept was
subjected to further refinement. The Polo Cup’s success story is closely linked
to the DTM-Deutsche Tourenwagen Meisterschaft. The premier league of touring
car racing has evolved into a real crowd-puller and is envisaged as a concrete
career goal by many junior racers.
The commitment encompasses the internationally renowned Dakar Rally.
Diesel and bio natural gas powered as eco-conscious alternatives to
conventional spark ignition engines and clever down­­sizing are the core
elements of this strategy. Volkswagen is already in the process of putting the
aims of eco-conscious motorsport of the future into action. Bio natural gas
engines in the Scirocco R-Cup and at the Nürburgring 24 Hours have already
proved that eco-consciousness and top-calibre racing. Volkswagen consistently
banks on production-based technology and the conservation of resources. In an
overall assessment of racing operations and logistics for the Scirocco R-Cup
Volkswagen has achieved a reduction of CO2emissions by 80 per cent.

About elanka@2017

Check Also

Billion rupee startup, PAYable, draws in major investment, gears for accelerated growth

Yohan Wijesiriwardane, Co-Founder and incoming CEO and Sujith Subasinghe, PAYable’s late Co-Founder and CEO. Building …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *