Latest News

Dropdown Menu

Friday, August 3, 2012

Kumara Sangakkara Receive for Second Time Nomination for LG ICC People's Choice Award...

ICC awards 2012
The LG People's Choice Awards allows cricket fans the unique chance to vote for a galaxy of international stars who have produced outstanding performances in the past year.
Fans vote on a short list nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts using criteria set out by LG and the ICC. This dictates that the nominees should have displayed some of the attributes regarded by LG as in line with their corporate qualities such as innovation, dynamism, strength in decision-making, performing well under pressure and executing a plan to distinction.

LG-ICC-awards-2012- five-players

Sri Lanka Veteran batsmen and wicket keeper Kumar Sangakkara and Indian top cricketer Sachin Tendulkar, both past winners of the LG People’s Choice Award, have been nominated for the honour a second time, along with three other candidates. Tendulkar won the award in 2010, The winner in 2011 was Sri Lanka's KumarSangakkara.

In addition to Tendulkar and Sangakkara, this year’s nominees include Englandpacer James Anderson, and South Africans Jacques Kallis and Vernon Philander.

Among Tendulkar’s many credentials is his recently acquired record of a 100 international centuries, which fits in with his other achievements, including his record for most Test and ODI runs of all time.

Wicket keeperand top order batsman of sri lanka kumar Sangakkara, meanwhile, tops the ICC’s list of top Test batsmen, and all-rounder Kallis, pacer Philander, and English quick Anderson are also sure to have received a spike in popularity with the ongoing, much-hyped 3-match Test series between England and South Africa.

Fans will be able to vote for their preferred international star through an application which has been made available on the ICC’s Facebook page. Choose for one of the five candidates below, and select your country of residence, and then press vote.  Each user is only allowed one vote from their Facebook account. Voting is open until 31st August 2012 and the winner will be announced on 15th September 2012 at a glittering ceremony in Colombo,Sri Lanka.

The nominees have been selected by a panel of cricket experts headed by Clive Lloyd (former West Indies skipper), and comprising Tom Moody (Australia), Clare Connor (England), Marvan Atapattu (Sri Lanka), and Carl Hooper (West Indies).

No comments

Post a Comment