Latest News

Dropdown Menu

Saturday, September 15, 2012

ICC one-day(ODI) team of the year 2012

Kumar Sangakkara,Lasith Malinga,  included in ICC ODI team of the year 2012
Kumar Sangakkara,Lasith Malinga,  included in ICC
ODI team of the year 2012

Sri Lankan Kumar Sangakkara,Lasith Malinga,  included in ICC ODI team of the year 2012

Seven Asian players including India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Sri Lanka's wicketkeeper-and top order batsman Kumar Sangakkara were selected in the International Cricket Council's one-day team of the year.Dhoni, who was included in the team for a fifth year in succession, was named captain.
--> India's Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir, Sri Lankan fast bowler Lasith Malinga, Pakistan spinner Saeed Ajmal and all rounder Shahid Afridi were also named in the team.
England captain Alastair Cook and paceman Steven Finn, Australian skipper Michael Clarke and South African fast bowler Morne Morkelcompleted the line-up.
"This team, along with the test team of the year was extremely difficult to decide upon, but we feel the side has strength to bat well down the order while also having a good variety for any type of conditions when it comes to its bowling attack," former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd, the chairman of the ICC Awards selection panel, said.
"With six countries represented and a vast expanse of talent the team would be a challenge to beat for any number of opposition sides."
ICC one-day team of the Year 2012 (in batting order): 

  • Gautam Gambhir (India)
  •  Alastair Cook (England)
  •  Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
  •  Virat Kohli (India)
  •  Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India, wicketkeeper/captain)
  • Michael Clarke (Australia)
  •  Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)
  •  Morne Morkel (South Africa)
  •  Steven Finn (England)
  •  Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)
  •  Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan)
  •  12th Man - Shane Watson (Australia)


No comments

Post a Comment