Latest News

Dropdown Menu

Monday, July 1, 2013

No ICC events for Sri Lanka

No ICC events for Sri Lanka
No ICC events for Sri Lanka

ICC events from the period of 2016 to 2023

The ICC announced yesterday its global events from the period of 2016 to 2023 and while all Full Members of ICC were given some event, the only countries that were not allocated any events were Sri Lanka and Pakistan. While no cricket has been taking place in Pakistan since 2009 due to security concerns, it was surprising to see Sri Lanka being completely left out– not even an under-19 World Cup or a Women’s World Cup.

England and India have got the major share of next few ICC events with the Board of Control for Cricket in India getting a World Cup, a World T-20 and a World Test Championship, ECB got the opportunity to host the inaugural Test Championship in 2017 and the ICC World Cup in 2019.

Since 2000, Sri Lanka has become a favourite destination for ICC events. Sri Lanka hosted the World T-20 last year and were co-hosts of the ICC World Cup in 2011 alongside India, Pakistan and Bangladesh. The country also hosted the ICC Champions Trophy in 2002 and the ICC Under-19 World Cups in 2000 and 2006.

Upcoming Major ICC Events 

  • ICC World Twenty 20 2014 – BCB 
  • ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 – Australia/New Zealand 
  • ICC World Twenty20 2016 – BCCI 
  • ICC World Test Championship 2017 – ECB 
  • ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 – ECB 
  • ICC World Twenty20 2020 – Cricket Australia 
  • ICC World Test Championship 2021 – BCCI 
  • ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 – BCCI

No comments

Post a Comment